Planned Outage - Degreeworks

Please note that on Thursday, September 23rd DegreeWorks will be unavailable due to planned maintenance. DegreeWorks will be available again starting Friday, September 24th.

Order of the Purple Graduates Honored at Butler

Butler Graduates
Published: Tuesday, May 20th, 2014

Order of the Purple Graduates Honored at Butler

Butler Community College honored the 2014 Order of the Purple Graduates in a special ceremony on May 16. Students eligible for the Order of the Purple must have completed 30 hours at Butler and hold a 3.75 or higher cumulative grade point average. 

The First Place Winner for the 2013-2014 Winnie Broers Estate Award was Alex Todd of Andover, Kan. He will receive a transfer scholarship of $4,800 to study at Kansas State University.

The Helen Teter Zebold Science Award was given to Katie Andersen of Wichita, Kan. This honor is awarded to a graduating sophomore majoring in science, math or engineering. The student must be firmly committed to continued study in that major and plan to work toward earning a bachelor’s degree.

The Humankind Understands Educating Youth (HUEY) Winner was Tyler Riffel of El Dorado, Kan. This award was created in honor of former Butler student Greg Bales and is given to the Order of the Purple graduate who possesses the same high standards for both academics and extra-curricular activities as Bales.

The Frank H. Cron History Award was given to Ryan Jarboe of Wichita, Kan. This award is given to a graduating sophomore who has completed the required courses to receive an Associate of Science or Associate of Arts in History and demonstrates high standards of civic pride and American patriotism.